Hims review
Brand-name GLP-1s only (Wegovy pill and pen, Zepbound, Foundayo, Ozempic) with named medical groups and pharmacies, but a $149/mo membership sits on top of medication from $149/mo, about $298/mo at the lowest dose, and FDA's 2025 warning letter about hims.com is still open.
Scored 6.6/10 · ranked #37 of 53 · from $149/mo membership, month to month, medication billed separately from $149/mo · Verified 2026-11-04
What that price doesn’t say: $149/mo is the membership alone, month to month ($39 for the first month). Medication is billed on top: from $149/mo for the Wegovy pill, $199/mo for the Wegovy pen and $299/mo for Zepbound, so the lowest total is about $298/mo. Hims prints a starting price per drug but no price for each dose. Price read 2026-11-04.
Short answer
The advertised $149/mo is the membership fee alone. Medication is billed separately from $149/mo, so a realistic starting cost is about $298/mo in total, membership plus medication, with the membership month to month.
Summarize this page with
Hims' plans and prices
Every plan, product and plan length Hims lists, as we read them. Extra costs and introductory prices are their own rows.
| Plan | Price | Term | What it covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hims Weight Loss Membership, monthly | $149/mo | month to month, auto-renews | Membership only; medication is billed separately |
| Extra costs and introductory prices | |||
| Membership, first month | $39 first month | Not stated | Introductory price for the first period |
| Wegovy pill (medication only)brand-name | $149/mo | from, billed monthly | Billed on top of the plan |
| Wegovy pen (medication only)brand-name | $199/mo | from, billed monthly | Billed on top of the plan |
| Zepbound vial or KwikPen (medication only)brand-name | $299/mo | from, billed monthly | Billed on top of the plan |
| Foundayo pill (medication only)brand-name | $149/mo | from, billed monthly | Billed on top of the plan |
| Mounjaro or Zepbound pen (medication only)brand-name | $1,899/mo | Not stated | Billed on top of the plan |
Hims' own figures, read up to 2026-11-04 on hims.com, hims.com, hims.com, hims.com, hims.com, hims.com.
Before you sign up with Hims
Each line is from Hims' own pages or a public record, with the date we read it. Where we hold no reading, the line is left out rather than guessed.
- Extra costs
- The $149/mo membership and medication from $149/mo are billed separately. Beyond the advertised price, our record notes: Medication is billed separately from the $149/mo membership, from $149/mo for the Wegovy pill, Foundayo pill or Ozempic pill, $199/mo for the Wegovy pen or Ozempic, and $299/mo for Zepbound. Wegovy pill (medication only): $149 /mo. Wegovy pen (medication only): $199 /mo. Zepbound vial or KwikPen (medication only): $299 /mo. Foundayo pill (medication only): $149 /mo. Mounjaro or Zepbound pen (medication only): $1,899 /mo. (checked 2026-11-04)
- Lab work
- Hims' pages don't say. (hims.com, read 2026-11-04)
- Pharmacy
- Hims names Apostrophe Pharmacy LLC, XeCare LLC, EHT Pharmacy LLC dba Curexa, CD Pharmacy LLC d/b/a Red Rock Pharmacy, AnazaoHealth Corporation, Strive Specialties, Inc.. (checked 2026-11-04)
The downsides we found
- Medication is billed on top of the membership.
- Some charges sit outside the advertised price.
- Holds an open FDA warning letter.
What the score rests on
Classified as membership-excludes-medication. See how we classify every clinic's price →
| Criterion | Weight | Score | What it rests on |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price & value | 25% weight | 5.0 | The lowest total is about $298/mo: the $149/mo membership plus the Wegovy pill from $149/mo. That is the highest total among the membership clinics we rank, with no cheaper rate for a longer plan. |
| Clinical oversight | 30% weight | 8.0 | The Terms name the medical groups that employ the prescribers and six fulfilling pharmacies. The membership includes a first evaluation, a monthly clinical check-in, dose adjustments, unlimited provider messaging and nausea medication if prescribed. A video visit happens only where the state requires one, and no lab testing is described for weight-loss care. |
| Treatment options | 20% weight | 8.5 | Only brand-name, FDA-approved GLP-1s: the Wegovy pill and pen, Zepbound (vial and KwikPen), the Foundayo pill, the Ozempic pill, Ozempic and Mounjaro, each with a starting price. No compounded option is listed for weight loss. |
| Transparency & trust | 25% weight | 5.0 | The membership price, each drug's starting price and the cancellation and refund terms are published. Missing: a price for each dose, a price for the upfront medication plans, and a list of the states served. FDA's warning letter of September 2025 about compounded semaglutide claims on hims.com is still open. |
4 of 4 criteria have a written source.
Watch out for
(1) TWO BILLS. The $149/mo membership ($39 the first month) does not include medication, which is billed on top from $149/mo for the Wegovy pill, $199/mo for the Wegovy pen and $299/mo for Zepbound; Mounjaro and the Zepbound pen are listed at $1,899/mo. Hims prints a starting price per drug but no price per dose: "Pricing may vary by dosage." (2) CANCELLING THE MEMBERSHIP CANCELS THE MEDICATION PLAN, and on a prepaid multi-month medication plan you keep paying the membership until the shipped supply runs out. The first month's fee is non-refundable and medication cannot be refunded once shipped. (3) AN OPEN FDA WARNING LETTER. On 9 September 2025 FDA wrote to Hims & Hers Health, Inc. dba Hims about compounded semaglutide claims on hims.com ("Same active ingredient as Ozempic and Wegovy"); fda.gov shows no close-out. The weight-loss pages we read on 4 November 2026 list only brand-name drugs. (4) NO STATE LIST. The FAQ says GLP-1s "are not yet available in all 50 states" without naming them. (Sources: hims.com/weight-loss, /weight-loss/membership, /weight-loss/faq, product pages and /terms-and-conditions, read 2026-11-04. No intake was completed.)
Alternatives to Hims
Pickfrom $169/mo on a $2,028 prepaid yearPublishes every plan length with its total billed and its per-month rate on each product page, and offers compounded injections, a compounded tablet and brand-name Zepbound, Wegovy (pill or pen) and Ozempic. But the $169/mo headline is $2,028 charged up front and non-refundable.
Visit →Affiliate link
Pick$247/mo regular rate for a one-month supply ($147 first month)Compounded GLP-1 (semaglutide and tirzepatide, injection or oral) AND real brand-name Wegovy, Ozempic, Mounjaro and Zepbound on one menu. $147 for the first month of compounded semaglutide, then $247/mo, with board-certified obesity specialists and 24/7 support.
Visit →Affiliate link
Pickfrom $99/mo on a 12-month plan ($1,188 billed, $190 month to month)Publishes every plan length with its total billed, per-month rate and renewal price, and the renewal is lower than the signup price, not higher.
Visit →Affiliate link
Hims compared, one on one
Price side by side with the unit each clinic publishes, what the figure covers, the commitment, and what one does that the other doesn’t. Every figure dated.
What changed since we last checked
No change to Hims’s plan rows or list of states in our record since we started recording them. Changes to its starting price are in the section above.
A change can be Hims moving a price, or us reading a page we hadn’t read before or correcting an earlier reading. Dates are when the change entered our record.
Check your state and budget
From Hims’s own pages as recorded in its review. A monthly figure for a plan billed every few weeks or months is our arithmetic.
Questions to ask Hims at intake
Each one is here because Hims’s pages left it open when we read them.
- Do you serve my state? Hims doesn't publish a list of states it can't serve.
- Do I need lab work before starting, and what does it cost? Its pages don't say whether labs are needed or what they cost.
- What will I pay each month after the introductory price ends? Hims advertises a first-period price that differs from its ongoing rate.
- Does my price change when my dose goes up? Its plan prices don't say whether they hold at higher doses.
Hims: common questions
How much does Hims cost?
The advertised $149/mo is the membership fee alone. Medication is billed separately from $149/mo, so a realistic starting cost is about $298/mo in total, membership plus medication, with the membership month to month.
Does Hims charge anything on top?
The $149/mo membership and medication from $149/mo are billed separately. Beyond the advertised price, our record notes: Medication is billed separately from the $149/mo membership, from $149/mo for the Wegovy pill, Foundayo pill or Ozempic pill, $199/mo for the Wegovy pen or Ozempic, and $299/mo for Zepbound. Wegovy pill (medication only): $149 /mo. Wegovy pen (medication only): $199 /mo. Zepbound vial or KwikPen (medication only): $299 /mo. Foundayo pill (medication only): $149 /mo. Mounjaro or Zepbound pen (medication only): $1,899 /mo. (Read 2026-11-04.)
Does Hims require lab work?
Hims' pages don't say. (Read 2026-11-04.)
Is Hims available in my state?
Hims doesn't publish a list of states it can't serve that we could verify, so we don't claim one. Confirm at intake before you pay.
What we found
Regulatory action
FDA warning letter naming Hims & Hers Health, Inc. dba Hims
Unlawful Sale of Unapproved and Misbranded Drugs to United States Consumers Over the Internet (Telehealth). Letter 716567, dated 2025-09-09. FDA states it reviewed hims.com in August 2025 and observed that the website offers compounded drug products, including semaglutide. FDA quotes the claims "Same active ingredient as Ozempic and Wegovy" and "Clinically proven ingredients" and alleges they imply the compounded products are the same as an FDA-approved product, making them misbranded under sections 502(a) and 502(bb) of the FD&C Act. Addressed to the CEO of Hims & Hers Health, Inc. dba Hims. An allegation, not an adjudicated finding. The weight-loss pages we read on 2026-11-04 list only brand-name drugs. No closeout letter has been posted.
Everything we found across every clinic. Each with its source and the date we checked it.
25 of the 53 clinics we rank are an affiliate partner. Scores come only from our published methodology. At equal displayed scores, active affiliate partners are listed first. What it changes is which clinic a promoted button points at, and every such link carries a PICK badge in the table so you can see it before you click.
Reviewed by Alexandru Vieru. Price read on Hims's own pages on 2026-11-04.